Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Sign In
Monday,04 July, 2022
Historical View
The Lebanese Constitution does not specify a location for the Presidency of the Republic, whereas Article 26 of the Constitution stipulates that "Beirut is the center of the Government and Chamber of Deputies [Parliament]",

The Presidential Residence was first in Administrative Beirut, namely in the Qantari area; it was then relocated to Sin el-Fil and Jounieh among other areas. As a matter of fact, the term Presidential Residence referred to the place where the president along with the presidency administration settled in until the completion of the Presidential Palace of Baabda in the 60s. And the first president to serve his term in Baabda was H.E. President Charles Helou.

Furthermore, the presidential summer residence also depended on the president's preference; it used to be where the president and his administration relocated to. Owned by the Lebanese government and run by the Directorate General of Antiquities, Beit Eddine Palace became the official presidential summer residence during the mandates of Bechara El Khoury and Camile Chamoun. During these presidents' terms, all the presidency's departments would move their offices to Beit Eddine in the summer, but such was not the case for all the presidents. In deed, most presidents moved to Beit Eddine in the summer even if it was for a short period of time; for example, H.E. Fouad Chehab moved to the official summer residence for only one day, and H.E. Elias Sarkis did so for specific meetings, namely for the Arab League meeting. However, H.E. Amine El Gemayel and H.E. Elias Hrawi were the only presidents that did not relocate to the official summer residence of Beit Eddine.